S’mores N’ More

20120828-184058.jpg

No American childhood experience can be complete without the classic s’mores and hot chocolate. I can remember sitting with friends at camp, talking about who we had a crush on, watching fireflies blink in and out of the forest. I always loved my hot chocolate rich and creamy, my marshmallows flaming and my boys cute.

So, yes there are many ways to get around this. Nowadays, there is a commercial-made graham cracker.

20120828-184541.jpg

However, if you are looking for a home-made gluten-free graham cracker , I was introduced to one by a a very reputable blog.

For kids on-the-go, marshmallows, are usually gluten-free and I know for sure that Swiss Miss is gluten-free. If you want to make your own at home, it is pretty easy.

20120828-193945.jpg

Recipe:

3 cups milk (dairy, coconut, almond or rice)
1/2 cup chopped chocolate or chocolate chips
Optional:
Dash or two of each, cinnamon, cardamom, cloves, ground black pepper (cayenne pepper for those who like spicy)

In a sauce pan, bring milk and spices to a steam. Add chocolate and stir until totally melted and incorporated. Serve hot, with a dash of whipped cream and a dash of cinnamon or red pepper on top or a nice marshmallow. Enjoy !

One response »

Leave a comment